SK girl group Momoland leaves MLD Entertainment

SK girl group Momoland leaves MLD Entertainment

Jan 29, 2023, 12:32 AM
Nicole Pulido

Nicole Pulido


South Korean girl group Momoland who popularized the songs “Bboom Bboom” and “Baam” did not renew their contract with MLD Entertainment as a group

South Korean girl group Momoland decided not to renew their exclusive contract with MLD Entertainment after it expired this year as confirmed through media platform Naver on Friday, January 27.

Currently made up of six members — Hyebin, Jane, Nayun, JooE, Ahin, and Nancy — the girl group originally debuted in 2016 with seven members, with former member Yeonwoo.

In 2017, the company wanted to expand the lineup and added two new members, Daisy and Taeha, but the nine-piece group didn't last long as Yeonwoo and Taeha both left in 2019, while Daisy followed a year later.

According to Korea JoongAng Daily, the agency reported that her departure was due to her shift in focus to her acting career but Yeonwoo denied this and insisted that she was pushed out of the group which created a controversy within their fanbase.

MLD Entertainment announced their parting ways with the group with a statement in Naver that says, "After long discussions with Momoland, we agreed to respect each other's opinions and terminate the exclusive contract upon expiration of the contract period.”

"We express our deep gratitude to Momoland for being with us as artists for a long time, and we will also sincerely support the members' future," reported CNN Philippines.

The agency also asked for the continuing support of their fans as the six members embark on a new journey in their separate careers.

Momoland debuted with the mini album ‘Welcome to Momoland’ in November 2016 while their first studio album came almost three years later with ’Chiri Chiri’ released in September 2019.

The group, however, released a series of hit songs which include Bboom Bboom,” “Baam,” and “Pinky Love,” and their latest release before completely breaking up is a song called “Yummy Yummy Love,” released in January 2022 in collaboration with Dominican singer Natti Natasha.

Tags: #kpop, #girlgroup, #contract

More about K-POP

Former Big Bang member Seungri is free

Former Big Bang member Seungri is free

3 months ago

We take a stand
OpinYon News logo

Designed and developed by Simmer Studios.

© 2023 OpinYon News. All rights reserved.